Builders Association recognizes safety accomplishments through awards, recognition program


The Chicago Builders Association (BA) considers safety on the job a very serious matter. Over the years its Safety and Health Committee has implemented several initiatives to that effect, including safety training, the annual Safety Stand Down and the association’s Safety Awards program that recognizes member companies for outstanding safety performance.

Association members also participate in the AGC of America’s National Safety Award program; many earn Commendation status each year.

“The time and dedication our Safety and Health Committee commits to our safety endeavors is impressive,” said BA executive director Dan McLaughlin. “Their enthusiasm for work site safety planning and education makes all of our members better, safer companies. The awards are one way to recognize those companies for their hard work and efforts regarding safety.”

Dan Ruane from W.E. O’Neil Construction Co. serves as chairman. Other committee members include: Nancy Bero, Oakwood Contractors; Shane Deaton, Henry Bros. Co.; Paul Flentge, Pepper Construction; Bradley Hartmann, Red Angle; Luke Lukowicz, W.B. Olson, Inc.; Matt McKeon, The Hill Group; Mike Polacheck, The George Sollitt Construction Co.; Dennis Rumshas, McShane Construction; and Austin Stanton, Valenti Builders.

This year’s annual Safety Awards luncheon was held in May at Maggiano’s Oak Brook with almost 150 leaders in the Chicago construction industry attending. Safety Award applications are distributed to member firms every January; Recognition, Improvement, and Excellence Award category winners are notified in April.


Here are the 2015 BA Safety Award



Recognition Award recipients

Advent Systems, Inc.

AMS Mechanical Systems Inc.

Barton Malow Company

Bulley & Andrews LLC

Custom Contracting, Ltd.

DLZ Industrial Surveying, LLC

Fettes, Love & Sieben, Inc.

Frank H. Stowell & Sons, Inc.

Glenn H. Johnson Construction Co.

Hard Rock Concrete Cutters, Inc.

Henry Bros. Co.

Joseph J. Duffy Co.


McShane Construction Company

Michuda Construction, Inc.

Ragnar Benson Construction, LLC

Tessler Construction Company, Inc.

Thatcher Foundations Inc.

United States Alliance Fire
Protection, Inc.

W.B. Olson, Inc.

W.E. O’Neil Construction Company

Wm. J. Scown Building Co.


Safety Excellence Award winners

Under 70,000 exposure hours:
Glenn H. Johnson Construction Co.

70,000 – 250,000 exposure hours: Thatcher Foundations Inc.

250,001 – 500,000 exposure hours: W.E. O’Neil Construction

Over 500,000 exposure hours: United States Alliance Fire


Safety Performance Improvement Award recipient

Fettes, Love & Sieben, Inc.


AGC National Safety Awards (NASA) chapter recipients

Case Foundation Co.

Custom Contracting, Ltd.

McShane Construction Co.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.